Luck of the Irish

With a weekend of sugar cookie making in our house it was essential to round out the variety with some cookies to share with friends and coworkers for St. Patrick’s Day. And as it’ll also be my parents Anniversary then as well I thought it’d be nice to send them home a little package of cookies too. Last week I came across a great blog where I found a recipe for homemade oreo cookies and decided to try those out this weekend to customize for the upcoming holiday. Since I wanted to feel a little less guilty about eating a few of them myself I decided to modify the recipe to make it healthier (egg whites in place of eggs, whole wheat flour in place of regular flour, etc). I’m mixed about sharing them now because while I appreciate things that taste similar to their higher calorie or less nutritious counterparts, I’m not sure that other people will have the same modified palate. So if you live near me and want one I’m happy to share them! =)  I’m posting the original recipe below.

Oh yeah, and I had no clover cookie cutters and couldn’t find any to buy so I had to freehand these bad boys.

(I also find myself really enjoying this picture I took!)

Homemade Oreos

Chocolate Cookie:
{modified from Cookie Craft}

2 & 1/2 c. all-purpose, unbleached flour
1/2 c. dutch-process cocoa (natural is OK, too)
1/2 tsp. coarse salt
1 c. unsalted butter
1 c. sugar
1 egg
1 tsp. vanilla

Preheat oven to 350. Line baking sheets with parchment paper.

Whisk together the flour,cocoa, espresso powder and salt; set aside.

Cream together the butter and sugar until light an fluffy. Beat in the egg and vanilla until well combined.

In 3 additions, add the flour mixture at low speed. Scrape down sides and bottom of bowl as needed.

Roll the dough on a lightly floured and cocoa-ed surface. (I mixed the 2 of these, then spread on my rolling surface, on my rolling pin, and used it to dip my cookie cutters.)

Cut the cookies with a circle cutter.

Freeze cut cookies five minutes.

Bake 8 minutes. Let cool completely.

Cream Filling:

{source: The King Arthur Flour Cookie Companion: The Essential Cookie Cookbook }

1 tsp. plus a heaping 1/4 tsp. unflavored gelatin
2 tbsp. cold water
1/2 c. shortening
1 tsp. vanilla
2 and 1/2 c. powdered sugar

Combine the gelatin and water in a small bowl or cup.  Place the cup into a larger bowl of hot water and leave it there until the gelatin is completely dissolved and liquid transparent.

Remove the cup from the hot water and let the liquid cool to room temperature, but hasn’t begun to set…about 5 minutes.

Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, beat the shortening with a paddle attachment until fluffy.  Beat in the vanilla.  Add the sugar a little at a time, beating until the mixture comes together.  Scrape the bowl as needed.  Beat in the gelatin.  Use immediately, or store, well-wrapped at room temperature.

To make the sandwiches, flip one cookie over.  Make a teaspoon-sized ball of filling and place on upside-down cookie.  Press another cookie, right-side-up, down on top of it.

Leave a Reply

