Proceed with caution!

For about 6 months now the baking aisle at Target has haunted me with THIS:

I fought the good fight for awhile trying to pretend it didn’t exist, and it did the same about me. But last weekend the planets must have aligned or some other cosmic shift took place because next thing I knew I was taking this box of many tasty promises home with me. To fully understand the severity of this you have to also understand that I VERY VERY RARELY buy anything that contains any partially hydrogenated oils, high fructose, preservatives, etc. I did not even look at the ingredient list on this box. I didn’t care and/or didn’t want to know.

Now I didn’t throw ALL caution to the wind. I knew it was going to be a big calorie monster, but I figured there surely was a way to shave off at least a little. I was so excited to realize that the mix only had 140 calories a serving. I thought – wow, I can eat like half of it! Ummm….no. That is for 1/15 of the pan. And if you see on the picture above, they thoughtfully include a pan for you to make it in. And since this box is no bigger than a regular cake mix type of box you can see the horrifying outcome of what 1/15 truly means. It was all the more reason to find a solution that meant I could eat more than that.

The box calls for 2 tbsp of butter to be put into the crust. And 1/4 cup (4 tbsp) of butter to be put into the center peanut butter filling.

Here’s my response to that:

Smart Balance Light, and a ripe banana.

A tablespoon of regular butter has 100 calories. The Smart Balance has 50. So 2 tbsp in the crust of Smart Balance cut those calories in half. Then I replaced the 4 tbsp of butter for the filling with 1/4 cup of mashed banana which only has about 50 calories compared to 400. Overall, I cut out 500 from the whole dish. So now a serving of the final prepared dessert has 150 calories instead of 180.  Maybe that’s not a HUGE difference in the grand scheme of things, but it tasted A-MA-ZING and I felt better when my knife slipped and cut a piece that was not 1/15 of the pan….

Leave a Reply

