Gruyere and Rosemary Beer Bread

I’ve decided that beer bread is my new favorite thing. I went to bed unable to stop thinking about how delicious this was, and woke up sad that I have to give away the loaves I made.

Basic Beer Bread Recipe

(from a great blog)

3 cups self-rising flour

3 tbsp sugar

12 oz of beer, room temperature (I used Stella)

Butter

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine the flour and sugar. Pour in the beer (the batter will foam up a little) and stir until combined. Lumps are normal so don’t over-stir! Coat the inside of a 9×5 loaf pan with shortening. Pour in batter and bake for 1 hour (mine only took about 45 minutes). Immediately dump loaf out onto a cooling rack. Place cooling rack over a cookie sheet and pour melted butter over the loaf, letting it run down the sides. That’s it! Super easy!  And it seems to work that you could make these into individual biscuit/rolls. I wanted to be able to taste the bread without cutting into one of my gift loaves so I dropped a couple spoonfuls on a greased cookie sheet and they baked up perfectly in about 12 minutes.

Now I did a little variation in mine and added 1 cup of shredded gruyere cheese and 1 tbsp of fresh rosemary to the batter. It was A.MA.ZING!

Leave a Reply

