A life built for “deux”

This past weekend was a very special one as two of my dearest friends married each other! 🙂  The destination wedding took place in South Carolina at a resort in Isle of Palms near Charleston. The weather was amazing all weekend which was such a blessing since it rained and rained and rained the whole week in DC. All of the weekend’s festivities were great and of course the main event was magical and perfect. I was excited to be able to find many ways to help the lovely couple throughout the months and months of planning beforehand. Nicki had a beautiful vision for the wedding (easy, casual, beachy but with a nod to Paris as that is their honeymoon destination in a few short days). I had so much fun helping her try to brainstorm and execute all of the details to achieve this. Many craft days were had along the way 🙂

Here are pictures of how everything turned out:

The menu cards I designed to look like vintage Paris postcards. And I made a little personalized stamp with their names and wedding date which can be seen on the back side where the menu is.

Then to coordinate with those are the place cards! These were a blast as I got to look high and low across the web for 70 different French stamps so that each card got a different stamp.

Next were chalkboard signs for various locations. We bought unfinished wood pieces and sprayed them with chalkboard paint and then painted the edges in an ivory paint.

And also made “chalkboard” table numbers. I painted the unfinished wood frames to look white-washed and then the chalkboard portion is really black paper with white colored pencil so it’d hold up a little better.

As we were going through the theme of the wedding I had a great idea that I wanted to play off the “Mr and Mrs” and Paris ideas and make them a little gift. So I designed these t-shirts and sent all the necessary bits down to my youngest brother in FL and as he is a wizard at hand-screen-printing he whipped these out for me just as his first semester of college classes were getting underway. I love how they turned out!

And now pictures from the wedding and reception with everything in place!

Important to note here are the candles we handmade — hours were spent pouring wax and wicking these adorable quilted mason jar candles and they turned out fabulous! Oh and in the foreground is also the couple’s signature cocktail: Firefly (sweet tea vodka) and Lemonade

Photo op with the beautiful couple. All my best to you two – I love you guys!!

Leave a Reply

