Cocktails and Cravings Baby Shower

After months of prep it’s finally time to show the outcome of all the baby shower crafting and creating! My brother and sister-in-law are expecting a baby girl in June and Ava Grace will be the first grand kid for our family! We’re so excited and I am ecstatic about becoming Auntie B! With my family in Florida I knew that the only way I could be sure I’d make it to a baby shower would be to throw one myself. So I timed it with the Sarasota half marathon and had a jam packed and awesome weekend! I even managed to get my best race time! So much goodness all around!

Before I take you to all the photos, here’s a run-down of the shower:

Invites, Favors, etc:
– I handmade giraffe print invitations
– Fabric flowers made from a coordinating felt then made into clothespin name tags
-mini popcorn treat boxes for a “she’s about to pop” favor
-and I made the thank you notes and brought the envelopes to the shower to pass around to ensure that the mom-to-be had everyone’s address **this was definitely a well-praised idea at the shower, everyone thought it was brilliant. If only I could take credit, I merely saw the suggestion somewhere else. But I’ll never throw another shower where I don’t do this!
-thumbprint giraffe guest sign-in

Food:
This was all centered around the mom-to-be’s cravings so I made little signs signs at each food and hand wrote a quick banner to put above the table.
And I made a simple vanilla cake with vanilla frosting and by taking the extra time to use an array of shades of pink in the batter and frosting it transformed into a truly magical cake. (sometimes I like to just pull up the photos of the cake and stare at them…sigh….)

Drink:
This was (aside from the cake) (oh! And the onesies!) my favorite part of the shower.
The “mom”osa bar got a similar sign like the food table. Then I got matching carafes and filled them with 3 different juices and got champagne (a few non-alcoholic as well!) and some fruits and made a mimosa bar. It was a great success! The ladies all loved it and there was something for everyone. Again, this is a total repeat for almost any gathering.

Last but not least…the onesies!! The shower was 3 hrs which was perfect. Everyone had about 30 minutes to mingle then we got food and drink and sat down to decorate onesies! I got a variety of coordinating fabrics, cut out some simple shapes, and then I manned the ironing board while the guests cut out their designs. After I gave them a quick iron, they were hung on the clothesline for everyone to admire.

Then after an ooh and ahhh over the cake, we enjoyed watching the ever exciting opening of cute baby gifts while eating cake.

The day was better than I ever could’ve hoped for! A destination baby shower when you make everything, cart everything on the plane in your carry-on luggage, have a day to get the local things, run 13 miles only hours before and have an hour to set up everything is a little nerve-wracking, but with some awesome help it was a great success!

Okay, now the photos!

20120327-195730.jpg

20120327-195837.jpg

20120327-195851.jpg

20120327-195903.jpg

20120327-195940.jpg

20120327-195955.jpg

20120327-200013.jpg

20120327-200022.jpg

20120327-200044.jpg

20120327-200054.jpg

20120327-200827.jpg

20120327-200851.jpg

20120327-200911.jpg

20120327-202019.jpg

20120327-202034.jpg

Leave a Reply

