Pumpkin Ravioli

I. Love. Pumpkin! But that is not new information. So glad it is finally the appropriate time of year now to start making pumpkin flavored everything. I was inspired by a couple recipes I found on Pinterest to try my hand at making ravioli from scratch with a pumpkin filling.

I tried 2 different pasta dough recipes because 1 batch wasn’t enough for all of the filling so I will share the one I liked best. The filling was amazing. And I made an easy little cream/butter sauce to drizzle on the ravioli when I served it.

Pasta dough:
-3 cups all-purpose flour (I used King Arthur white wheat)
-2 large eggs
-3 tbsp water
-1 tsp olive oil
-1/2 tsp salt
By hand, on a clean surface make a well with the flour. In a measuring cup, mix the eggs, water, oil, and salt. Pour wet mixture into the flour slowly and mix with your fingers until all of the wet is incorporated. Do not force the dough to take all of the flour. Knead the dough on a floured work surface for 8-10 minutes. Form into a ball, cover with plastic wrap, and let sit for 30 minutes.

Filling:
-1 can pumpkin (I used the organic one)
-1 shallot, chopped
-1/3 cup butter, cubed
-1/4 tsp salt
-1/4 tsp pepper
-2/3 cup heavy whipping cream
-1 small bay leaf
-1 egg, lightly beaten

In a large skillet, sauté shallot in butter until tender. Add pumpkin and stir frequently for an additional 2-3 minutes. Add salt and pepper. Stir in cream and bay leaf. Bring to boil, stirring constantly. Reduce heat and simmer uncovered for 15-20 minutes or until thickened. Remove bay leaf.

Divide pasta dough into quarters. Roll one portion at a time into a 1/16 inch thickness. I used a ravioli cutter (like a cookie cutter) to press out the squares, but at this point a wheel cutter would work, a different shape of a cutter, or another ravioli gadget. Working rather speedily, place rounded teaspoonfuls of filling on one side of ravioli, brush edges with egg and press other half of ravioli dough around all sides.

At this point I froze all of my ravioli to have for later but you could also eat them right away.

Bring salted water in large pot to boil. Add ravioli. Reduce heat to gentle summer and cook until ravioli are tender and float to top. From frozen, mine took about 15 minutes.

Cream Drizzle
-1/3 cup heavy whipping cream
-2 tbsp butter
-salt to taste

While pasta is cooking, in a small saucepan bring cream to a boil. Cook, uncovered, until reduced by half. Stir in butter and add salt to taste.

With doubling the pasta dough recipe (so I made 2 batches of what is above), I ended up with about 45 ravioli.

I hope someone will tell me if they try making these!

20121008-180932.jpg

20121008-180943.jpg

20121008-180954.jpg

20121008-181023.jpg

20121008-181030.jpg

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

