Paleo Challenge: Day 3

Fading fast tonight. I have felt so lethargic all day. More shaky and just generally uncomfortable compared to yesterday. I got so busy at work today that I managed to accidentally skip over a morning and afternoon snack so I am quite certain I didn’t eat enough today to really feel as good as I could.

I did grab a handful of almonds before I hit the gym which was good. I did a 75 min yoga class — this is one that is pretty aggressively athletic. Can’t just chill in down dog for an hour and get some stretches in. I was more sweaty and shaky than I’d been all day which is saying something since I felt oddly sweaty all day! Yikes. Then I managed to fight the low energy I was feeling and make it to tabata on the rooftop of the parking garage which was nice since it was a pretty and cool spring evening. A little heavy on the pollen, but the fresh air definitely helped! If you don’t know what tabata is, it is 8 sets of 20 seconds of one specific movement (burpees, squat jumps, lateral runs, planks, etc) with 10 sec rest between. When those 8 sets are done then it is on to the next movement. There are usually like 8 moves I think? Hopefully I explained that well enough. But it is definitely a tough hour! No rest for the weary! I survived, burned 850 calories tonight, and came home to enjoy dinner. And now sleep!!!

Here’s what I ate:
Breakfast
-tried to make espresso in my cute little espresso maker, then add the coconut granules while it’s hot, then turn it into an iced americano with almond milk. I think it was a little heavy on the almond milk, but it was at least on the right track after the disaster that was yesterday’s “crap”pucino. Bleh!
-same turkey sausage and eggs with diced peppers and onions as the previous days.

Lunch
-homemade buffalo chicken nuggets! These were REALLY good. They look weird because of the almond meal being a meal and not flour…so the unblanched almonds make the nuggets look a little odd. But I promise they are awesome!

Afternoon Snack
-handful of almonds and about 3 glasses of water!

Dinner
-repeat of spaghetti squash with tomato sauce and ground turkey
-nice big bowl of broccoli with some garlic and olive oil
-yummy paleo chocolate chip cookie from the little batch made yesterday

I felt content until about 20 minutes ago. Now I am feeling hungry again. At least the hunger didn’t set in for awhile longer tonight.

20130417-223017.jpg

20130417-223158.jpg

20130417-223120.jpg

20130417-223231.jpg

20130417-223049.jpg

20130417-223301.jpg

20130417-223309.jpg

20130417-223732.jpg

2 thoughts on “Paleo Challenge: Day 3

  1. Zach

    You should try the illy dark roast espresso for regular espresso machines. I use it in my Moka maker with no problems, plus you get the added benefit of a stronger espresso flavor.

    Reply
    1. brittanyjeanallen Post author

      Thanks, friend! I appreciate the suggestion! I have only tried that kind but I could definitely use something stronger to power through the distinct flavor of almond milk. I shall put it on my shopping list!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

