“Big Flavors, Small Plates”

I got a chance to go to dinner at a Top Chef’s restaurant in DC on Friday night: Mike Isabella’s Graffiato. It was a very cool vibe inside. And I had no clue that the idea was sorta tapas style — each person ordering 2-3 small plates. I’m a big fan of this kind of restaurant because I love getting to try a couple things. My dining partner and I each had a first dish — he had the chilled pea soup with bacon (mmmmm) and I had a salad. Then we got the hand cut spaghetti (that I had eyed on the menu as being one of the “safer” choices but seemed like I’d be lame for ordering because it was the most normal thing on the menu). My dining partner brought it up and said he’d seen a video about it and the chef highly recommended it as the signature dish. So we got it. OH. MY. GOSH! It was truly incredible! The menu description is “olive oil poached cherry tomatoes, Thai basil”. I don’t know how such a simple dish could be so wonderful, but it was out of this world!

Then I picked us a pizza: the White House. This wood fired pizza had mozzerella, taleggio, ricotta, prosciutto, and black pepper honey. I sorta anticipated that this would no doubt be awesome and it was. Though awesome is sort of an understatement. You just have to go have it. If you love salty/sweet, if you love cheese, if you love wood fired pizza, or if you just love life and yourself, you need this!!! If I wasn’t trying to be a lady I might have thrown some elbows across the table and demanded I finish it all myself. Seriously. Aggggggghh. So good.

Then I had the delight of trying a new (new to me) gelato/espresso shop a few blocks from the restaurant. A friend once told me that when you’re ordering gelato it is inappropriate to just order one flavor, you have to have 2. Far be it from me to argue with such sound logic! I had the chocolate with chips and pistachio. I don’t have much more to say than that they were delicious! Mmmm. Good good night of food!

20130609-083207.jpg

20130609-083215.jpg

20130609-083221.jpg

20130609-083226.jpg

20130609-083233.jpg

20130609-083241.jpg

20130609-083247.jpg

One thought on ““Big Flavors, Small Plates”

  1. Pingback: Another {paleo} pizza crust with prosciutto and black pepper honey | Brittany Jean's Blog

Leave a Reply

