{paleo} Chipotle Garlic Lettuce Wraps

What a busy weekend! Friday night I took my bestie to Graffiato to recreate my dinner from the Friday before and share it with her because we’re both foodies and I knew she’d love it. So we shared the white pizza with the proscuitto and black pepper honey (aaaaagh, it was still amazing!!! and having it after the recreation I made last week on a paleo crust, I have to say, mine tasted really close! For what it was, haha – a crust of coconut flour and flaxseed with about $20 of delicious meat and cheese on top). Then we shared the broccolini with red pepper relish, walnuts, feta (it was really good — and served cold which was unexpected but good)

And then the roasted cauliflower with pecorino and mint. My friend was nervous about the mint (I love mint so I was confident that if the chef put it all together in a dish it must be for a good reason – and it was!!) We both really liked it.

And also the handcut spaghetti that I raved about last week, because let’s face it, ya just have to have it if you go there!

We both indulged in some yummy wines too. I had a red from Sangiovese in Italy. It is driving me nuts to try to remember if that’s one of the areas I visited on my summer abroad many years ago in Italy. The wine was delish. And after one glass I was embarassingly too tipsy to drive home, so we walked off our buzzes by going to the 2nd part of my last Friday night — gelato!! We could only get reservations (which are HIGHLY recommended I have to say, after seeing how crazy busy it gets there) at 6:30 so you should be impressed that we had dinner, got tipsy, had gelato, and sobered up all before 8pm! The sun was still out on the drive over the bridge back to Arlington. I joked that I needed my sunglasses on cause the bright sun was hurting my hangover. Ha…maybe not so funny as it was then. Anyways, a great great night!

20130617-073045.jpg

20130617-073104.jpg

20130617-073123.jpg

 

Sunday afternoon was a day of errands and some shopping. I tutored in the morning for a Japanese man who is trying to improve his reading abilities in English, particularly reading comprehension. So we spent about 2 hours reading a very cute series of mystery books for a 3rd grade reading level. It was funny trying to explain sarcasm to him and when it would be appropriate to use phrases that were used in the book like: “the cat’s out of the bag”. Good times. After that I had lunch with a friend at Busboys and Poets in Shirlington. While it was a steamy day, it felt nice to sit outside in the shade where it was breezy. I had a cobb salad that was very tasty.

Yesterday evening’s dinner was another paleo endeavor. Nothing crazy, just super simple. Mexican style ground turkey lettuce wraps.

Ingredients

-1lb ground turkey

-1 cup chopped peppers (we bought the prechopped combination of red, yellow, and green to save some time)

-1 small yellow onion, chopped

-taco seasoning (we used a slightly non-paleo kind — it had a little evaporated cane juice in it)

-bibb lettuce

Directions

Here’s the easy part!

1. Saute peppers and onions on the stovetop.

2. Add ground meat and prepare according to whatever packaging of taco seasoning you’re using!

3. Put in your washed bibb lettuce leaves and eat!

After dinner we met a friend for frozen yogurt. YUM! I love summer 🙂

Here’s the ingredient list for the taco seasoning we used:

Roasted tomato, filtered water, red onion, red chiles (New Mexico and guajillo), chipotle chiles, tomato paste, salt, garlic, evaporated cane juice, distilled vinegar, agave nectar, expeller pressed canola oil, extra virgin olive oil, sesame oil, paprika and spices. ALL NATURAL. NO PRESERVATIVES. No gluten ingredients used.

It is so delicious!

 

 

20130617-073139.jpg

20130617-073146.jpg

20130617-073154.jpg

20130617-073209.jpg

20130617-073223.jpg

20130617-073230.jpg

20130617-073237.jpg

20130617-081329.jpg

20130617-081336.jpg

Leave a Reply

