Sweet tooth and sweet potatoes

I have been continuing to tread slowly but surely back into strength training, particularly upper body. Since my shoulder/bicep issue back in February my overall strength training took a nosedive. I am trying to make a point to get to Crossfit 2 times a week (I still look at the workout first and decide if I feel like it’s worth going or if I’ll have to modify a WOD beyond enjoyment). I went twice last week, both times happened to include a ton of pull-ups, and I have now been perpetually sore for a week, but it has been a very satisfying feeling. I know I am on the road to getting back to where I want I be. Even if it takes awhile. It’s also been harder to cut back my usual calorie intake when I was actively building muscle. But again, I am on the road to getting back on track.

Trying to find mostly paleo meals has still been a top priority. I am trying to maintain a 70-30 lifestyle. Had a new delicious dinner the other night after a particularly rough and exhausting Crossfit night. I was struggling to put one foot in front of the other on the walk home from the gym. I was a total noodle. But dinner was awesome. Some chicken, broccoli, and then sweet potatoes cut into spears and baked, then some blue cheese and part skim shredded cheddar sprinkled on top to melt at the last minute. Soooo much great flavor for not many added calories.

I’ve also experimented with making my own coconut mocha frappucinos the last few days. I have been in mourning since I found out that Starbucks wasn’t bringing back the coconut mochas this summer. They have been my go to summer treat the last 2 years, and now I feel lost! Sigh. At the grocery store last week I found this mocha espresso concentrate. So a 1/4 cup of that, 1/2 cup of coconut milk, and 6 cubes of frozen coconut milk (plan ahead so you can make these — each one is about 1-1/2 tbsp). Blend it all together and enjoy! I even added a little coconut extract. I’ll keep trying different variations, but this one was great on the first go-round!

20130715-092302.jpg
Getting my blisters back πŸ™‚

20130715-092330.jpg

20130715-092350.jpg

20130715-092557.jpg

20130715-092605.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

