Review of a great book: Hope Rising by Scott C Todd

I started a fun new adventure of book reviewing and I recently received a copy of the book Hope Rising and have been eagerly reading my way through it and just wrapped it up on Sunday.

20140609-214825.jpg

I was excited to read this book just based initially on the fact that it was written by Scott C Todd with Compassion International and as I am now in my 2nd month of sponsoring a sweet little girl in Ghana through Compassion, I was excited to dive deeper into the mind of someone in such an important role for global advocacy.

Through scripture, facts, stories, historical data, and a blueprint for the future, Todd has woven together a truly convicting and inspiring path for how we can turn hope into reality when it comes to ending extreme poverty.

For anyone who is feeling called into missions at home or abroad or even someone just feeling convicted to dip their toe into the waters of caring about the poor, I think this book will help you check yourself and your intentions, arm you with confidence that we can ALL give something, and most importantly it will reassure you that it is more possible than you could ever hope that extreme poverty can see an end in our lifetime.

What I loved most about the book was that it provides a great overview of the issues that are being faced in the war against extreme poverty, and if you’re someone who doesn’t know much or anything at all about this topic you will gain great insight from this book and be at a great launching point to dig deeper as you see fit. I have an even greater respect and excitement for Compassion International and the amazing work they are doing in this world. I hope this book stirs your heart to take on a bigger role in joining the mission as it has mine!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

20140609-212755.jpg

One thought on “Review of a great book: Hope Rising by Scott C Todd

  1. Pingback: Great reads: Love Skip Jump by Shelene Bryan | Brittany Jean's Blog

Leave a Reply

