Great reads: Love Skip Jump by Shelene Bryan

This book review opportunity has been blessing me beyond words. (Haha, just realized that was a little bit of a book pun…ha!) but for real you guys, this book and the one I finished up a couple weeks ago have knocked me off my feet and shaken me in big ways. God is finding all these ways to bore into the space in my heart that keeps growing immeasurably larger that is calling me to action, to a desire to get in deep with those in need however He sees fit to lead me. It is this energy and excitement I can’t even explain. I just know that He is putting a very intentional stone ahead of my each step and I can’t wait to keep seeing where it’s taking me. The author of the book put it well when she said “God cares about the journey more than the end result”.

Okay so onto the book! Full disclosure, I read this from start to finish today as God blessed me with a beautiful and quiet summer Sunday afternoon to sit outside and soak in these heart-filled words while really being able to focus and hear Him in the spaces. I also should admit to eating about 12 peanut butter cup Oreos that I bought this morning at Target. Such a good day 🙂

20140622-212300.jpg

20140622-212308.jpg

20140622-212316.jpg

Love Skip Jump, written by Shelene Bryan is a journey through Shelene’s many adventures that led her to finally step out of her comfortable Christian life and really listen to what God was asking of her. When she started saying yes to the little and the big things, she found God working through her to cause ripples that are truly inspiring. I absolutely loved her honest and candid recounts of her journey and laughed and cried right along with each one. I read the book cover to cover in an afternoon and was right online checking out the website of her charity organization skip1.org (which encourages people to skip some convenience or pleasure, big or small, in their life and donate that money to help fund any number of great works) to try and see how I can jump into action with these folks. This book is one that I will be passing around to my friends to read and will have a lifelong spot on my bookshelf as I look back to her stories and challenges for encouragement and conviction. As Shelene writes “God doesn’t want us to do anything without joy. When it comes to serving God with our gifts, it’s not a ‘have to’, it’s a ‘get to’. We get to say yes and change everything.” Big or small, this book will change you and everyone who reads it for the better.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

