Cherry Coconut Chocolate Chunk Blondies!

photo 5

I meant to post these last week but I made them right before my family came to town for Labor Day weekend and of course once the weekend hit things were so fun and busy, and it doesn’t seem like that has stopped since. But alas, I give you the recipe for what I hope you enjoy as much as I did!

I had picked up a nice big bag of cherries at Whole Foods and found that they were starting to get a little sad and some were getting a little mushy before I could get through eating them all (I have learned my lesson on overindulging on cherries…stomachaches ensue when you forget…) so I took out the pits (these cherries were SO dark that my hands and countertop were a fun mess after that) and chopped them up to get ready to put in these blondies! I also had a dark chocolate bar that I’d received in my Conscious Box delivery a couple weeks prior — I had decided after trying a little piece of it that it would be best saved for baking because it wasn’t quite sweet enough to enjoy on it’s own (and I like really dark chocolate, so that’s saying something). But it was PERFECT for these blondies. And they’re a ONE BOWL recipe, so you won’t have a ton of dishes to do after. Amen.

photo 2photo 1

photo 4photo 3

Cherry Coconut Chocolate Chunk Blondies
(I used the recipe from this great blog with just a couple modifications — mainly adding coconut!)
Ingredients

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
1 cup light brown sugar, packed
1 egg
2 tsp vanilla
1 cup all-purpose whole wheat flour (I love how hearty whole wheat flour can make a baked good, and how it can stand up to a lot of flavorful ingredients — feel free to use regular AP flour or even a half-and-half blend of the two)
1/4 tsp kosher salt
1 cup cherries, pits removed and chop as desired (I probably used about 15 cherries)
1/3 cup chocolate chunks (or chips!)
1/3 cup shredded coconut

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray an 8×8 pan with non-stick spray and set aside.
2. Stir brown sugar into the melted butter in a large bowl. Add the egg and vanilla and stir to combine.
3. Stir in the flour and salt until just incorporated and then carefully fold in the cherries, coconut, and chocolate chunks.
4. Spread batter into the pan and bake! Mine baked for about 35 minutes but you’ll want to watch the time closely after about 25 minutes because they’ll bake different depending on how moist the cherries are. You’ll want the top to be a nice golden brown on the top and edges. Let these sit (ha! yeah right) for an hour (no, but really, I did try to have a bite after about 15 minutes and they were delicious but really messy, so if you want to actually cut your blondies instead of scoop them, wait the hour). Keep these in an airtight container. They’ll be find at room temp for several days, but after that I’d keep them refrigerated.

Enjoy!!

photo 5

Leave a Reply

