Put your love on the map!

PYLOTM_

A friend of mine posted this on Facebook this morning and it practically jumped out of the screen at me. It’s funny that I think practically all of my Valentine’s Days my whole life have been spent single, and yet I think I love Valentine’s Day more than most people who actually have a significant other to spend it with. Maybe it’s because my birthday is on the 17th and for me it’s like Valentine’s Day is really just part of the month long week long celebration for as long as I can remember. I’m always amazed by how grouchy people can get about Valentine’s Day! I have heard at least 4 people today alone grumbling about how it’s just a Hallmark holiday and they won’t give in to a made up day. I don’t care, haha. I LOVE love, and not just romantic love, but every kind of love. I get giddy when I walk around and see stores decorated in hearts and flowers, all the heart shaped candies and accessories and knick knacks. It’s just so cheerful and happy! How can you resist?! How can you not want to hug everyone?! (Is that just me? Maybe? Ha) And the origin of Valentine’s Day wasn’t even about romantic love but Godly love. A sacrificial love.

So this Valentine’s Day weekend, if you’re finding yourself grumpy for whatever reason, I challenge you to focus on the LOVE mentioned in the words above “the giving of ourselves to God and to those he has placed around us.” Go out into the world on this long holiday weekend and be on the lookout for people who need some extra love! Don’t worry about who is going to show you love this weekend, think about who you’re going to BE love to. Put your love on the map, my friends.

20150213-152557.jpg

After all, the greatest commandments we received were to Love God, and love people.

PYLOTM_1

Here are some ideas!

PYLOTM_Wide-Ad_300x250

Leave a Reply

