Another great read: God’s Story in 66 Verses by Stan Guthrie

It took me a few weeks to read this next book because I was enjoying reading each chapter along with my daily Bible reading. I started a reading plan though my Bible app at the beginning of January and this has really cleared up a little of the fog for me.

IMG_1143.JPG

God’s Story in 66 Verses by Stan Guthrie takes a careful and creative approach to breaking down the books of the Bible. The verse chosen for each book isn’t meant to be the most important or the best, but instead is a key verse that summarizes or lays the foundation for the book. I really enjoyed the additional commentary on each book and how the key verse ties the various elements together. This book would make a great companion to anyone whether they have many years of familiarity with the Bible, or are just starting a routine of reading.

Additionally, all of the key verses are listed again in a handy consolidated list at the back of the book. For anyone taking on a verse memory challenge, this would be an excellent resource for memorizing verses that would trigger one’s memory of the summary for each book of the Bible. I am so thankful to have this book in my collection now for sharing with friends and for easy reference.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

