Weekend Trip: Charlotte, NC

This past weekend I took a road trip to Charlotte, NC to spend the weekend with one of my best friends from college! It was such a perfect weekend! We had awesome food, got to relax, squeezed in a barre class, and I did a Stella & Dot trunk show for her friends! 

The trip down from DC took a little longer than planned on Friday, so a coffee stop was much needed as we neared the last couple hours of the drive! A quick internet search (by my copilot!) found a recently opened coffee shop just a few miles off the highway, so we headed there! Totally worth the little detour!! The Blend & Co in Burlington, NC is amazing! Fun menu (including some fun variations mochas) and a great interior! 

We made it to Charlotte just in time for dinner on Friday and were treated to the magic that is Viva Chicken! A Peruvian chicken place, but better than any place I’ve been to before! Okay, real talk, I never ate chicken, but what I did eat totally blew my mind!! 

I didn’t take a pic so I am borrowing this from Instagram. Friends, if you’ve never stuffed quinoa into an avocado half and then topped it with all this other amazing stuff, then you’re not really living. 🙂

Saturday morning we did a barre class and walked to get some donuts from a local truck, Sugar. We basically tried all the donuts between Saturday and Sunday and they were all fantastic! The Banana Fritter may have been my favorite mostly because it’s so unique! And I love banana 🙂 The Maple Bacon rivaled all others maple bacon donuts I’ve ever tried — I’d go so far as to say it was the best one I’ve experienced. 



Edit

Then after an awesome trunk show where the guests all picked some awesome spring accessories we went to dinner!



Dinner was at Maverick Rock Taco — very cool and happening place in a fun little neighborhood. 

Awesome interior!

And the food…..oh my gosh! I love street tacos! I had the Fried Avocado taco and the Roasted Cauliflower taco with the side of street corn. All of it was soooooo good!!!! 





Then we finished the weekend with a little morning coffee at Rush Espresso in my friend’s neighborhood. Coffee was great, and the little individual creamer vessels were adorable! 



And that was it! Such a great visit to a new city to visit an old friend!





Leave a Reply

