An interesting read: The Mother & Child Project

IMG_1182.JPG

I am very passionate about the effects of extreme poverty on mothers and children so when I had a chance to review this book I jumped at the chance. The book left me with a lot of mixed emotions. It is comprised of essays from artists, actors, policy makers, medical professionals, and pastors that were then compiled by Hope Through Healing Hands — a non-profit dedicated to helping women have healthy children. 300,000 die every year in developing countries from complications related to pregnancy and 80% of those deaths are preventable with resources that we are blessed with.

The words that rang truth to me were about how supporting mothers in third world countries was the foundation for creating healthy families that could rise out of poverty. The struggle I have is with the conflicting solutions. And from the moment I opened this book I felt an uncomfortable tension between the words on the pages and the underlying message. I would be careful if you choose to read this and be mindful that the contributors to the book may have beliefs that are not founded in biblical truth. Bottom line: read at your own risk and maybe seek out other sources to get additional info.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

My favorite part of the book was this

IMG_1184.JPG

Leave a Reply

